planetf1.com

It is currently Sat Dec 20, 2014 8:02 am

All times are UTC

Post subject: Watching f1 in Japan?
PostPosted: Sat Nov 17, 2012 6:58 am 

So I'll be in Japan for the final two rounds, and I'm wondering, presuming it's on free to air here, what channel and when?

Anybody know?

I failed quite dismally at searching for this info. :(

PostPosted: Sat Nov 17, 2012 7:14 am 

Just randomly tune for a sports channel? Hold up while i ask my Jap mate.

PostPosted: Sat Nov 17, 2012 7:31 am 

I have the same problem, I'm studying in China at the moment. Only a couple of the races have been shown on CCTV5 and my tv does not have ESPN Asia :(. Because of the time difference as well at some of the races I just wait until the next day and they are usually on youku.com where highlights are available.

PostPosted: Sat Nov 17, 2012 8:17 am 

Fuji TV Next (Pay) broadcast the races live

BS Fuji (Free) air a delayed broadcast after Fuji TV

PostPosted: Sun Nov 18, 2012 9:25 am 

As above, Fuji Next show it live and BS Fuji play it delayed. Fuji next is pay TV, but BS Fuji is free.

BS Fuji don't show the delayed USA GP race until 10pm on Monday local time. They also won't show the Brazilian GP until 10pm on Monday the 26th of November local time. (Qualifying for the Brazilian GP will be on at 8pm on Sunday the 25th of November.)
Info in Japanese here http://www.bsfuji.tv/top/pub/f1.html

You may have to press the "BS" button on your remote to access the BS channels including BS Fuji.

A word of caution. Japanese TV coverage is absolutely appalling.

PostPosted: Sun Nov 18, 2012 10:49 am 

if you have the internet then you can switch to the streams.

PostPosted: Sun Nov 18, 2012 1:04 pm 

Thanks for the advice. I guess I'll have to find some other means of watching it. I might fall asleep before then anyway :/

PostPosted: Sun Nov 18, 2012 2:52 pm 

ekoku wrote:
Japanese TV coverage is absolutely appalling.